Skip to content
Menu

Just arrived in Spain?For Expats (2026)

Best Energy Providers in Spain for Residents (2026)

Jules

Editor

Updated: October 2026 | Found helpful by 5 others

As of October 2026, three household electricity tariffs publish a price on the supplier's own page, from EUR 0.1199 per kWh before tax (TotalEnergies, below 4,000 kWh a year), and any switch must be completed within 10 business days of signing. If you already have electricity or gas set up in Spain, this guide compares Iberdrola, Endesa, Naturgy, and Repsol for switching, renewal, and optimizing an existing contract, rather than the first-contract setup covered on our main providers guide.

How Do Residents Compare Iberdrola, Endesa, Naturgy, and Repsol?

For an existing resident, the comparison that matters is your current per-kWh energy price and power term against each supplier's current offer for your consumption profile, not brand size. Iberdrola leads on renewable-tariff options, Endesa offers broad nationwide bundled electricity and gas, Naturgy remains strongest specifically for gas, and Repsol adds fuel-station loyalty discounts on top of its energy account. Run all four through the CNMC's Comparador de Ofertas de Energia using your actual annual consumption for an accurate comparison.

Illustration of a lightbulb, a plug, and a home meter, for choosing an electricity and gas provider in Spain.
Power, plug, and meter: energy in Spain.

Which Tariffs Publish a Price, and What Do They Cost?

Read on each supplier's page on 25 October 2026 and sorted by energy price. The energy price alone is not a fair comparison: the power term changes the bill too, so put your own consumption and contracted power into the CNMC comparator for each offer.

Prices before tax, October 2026. Holaluz: the research reported lower figures (EUR 0.147 list, EUR 0.115 online, EUR 0.099 power term); the table shows Holaluz's own page.
Supplier and tariffEnergy pricePower termPrice fixedMinimum term
TotalEnergiesA tu Aire Luz SiempreEUR 0.1199Not published12 monthsNot stated on the tariff page
HolaluzTarifa Clasica (24 h)EUR 0.154EUR 0.144 onlineEUR 0.12 per kW per day before tax, peak and valley12 monthsNo minimum term (sin permanencia)
Octopus EnergyOctopus RelaxEUR 0.154EUR 3.60 per kW per month before tax, peak and valley12 monthsNot stated on the price page

Compare every offer in the CNMC's Comparador de Ofertas de Energia. If you are on PVPC and eligible, the bono social discount is 42.5% or 57.5% until 31 December 2026, and it exists only on PVPC.

Which Tariff Fits Your Household?

Four situations from our October 2026 research, answered only where a supplier-published price or a rule supports the answer.

"No verified answer" means the answer depends on a price no supplier publishes.
SituationBest answerWhyRuled out
Family of four using 5,500 kWh a yearNo verified answerThe research's answer relies on a TotalEnergies price above 4,000 kWh a year that its tariff page does not publish, so it cannot be confirmed. Run your own consumption through the CNMC comparator.Nothing ruled out on verified prices
Remote worker at home all day, below 4,000 kWh a year, wants no bill shocksTotalEnergies A tu Aire Luz Siempre, EUR 0.1199 per kWh before tax, fixed for 12 monthsThe lowest published fixed energy price for this consumption, the same 24 hours a day. Its power term is not published, so confirm the total in the CNMC comparator.PVPC and indexed tariffs, whose energy price moves with the wholesale market
Renter who wants certified 100% renewable electricityTotalEnergies A tu Aire Luz SiempreThe research reports it as 100% renewable with guarantees of origin, and its energy price is published. Plenitude is the research's runner-up on certification, but its page publishes no price.Tariffs that state no guarantee of origin
Household affected by the November 2026 IVA safeguardNo action needed: the reduced rate applies automatically on the bill if the CPI test is metThe tax change is set by Real Decreto-ley 25/2026, not by your tariff.Switching tariff to chase the tax change

When Should Residents Switch Supplier?

Switch when a competitor's per-kWh price beats yours after accounting for any early-termination penalty on your current contract, when your fixed-term contract is ending, or when you want to move from a fixed contract to the regulated PVPC tariff or vice versa. There is no cost to switch supplier itself, and the switch must be completed within 10 business days of signing the new contract (Real Decreto 88/2026, art. 18). See our user-review comparison for service and billing-clarity reputation, and our price research page for the gas TUR and the July 2026 comparison-site bands.

Switching and bono social rules, October 2026.
TopicRuleLegal basis
How long a supplier switch takesYou have the right to switch electricity supplier within 10 business days of signing the new contract (5 more only where complex field work is needed). The technical switch itself may take no more than 24 hours.Real Decreto 88/2026, art. 18
Bono social discount in 2026From 1 January to 31 December 2026 the electricity bono social discount is 42.5% for vulnerable consumers and 57.5% for severely vulnerable consumers.Real Decreto-ley 7/2026, art. 1

What Should You Check at Contract Renewal?

At renewal, check whether your supplier has moved you onto a higher-priced default tariff, whether your potencia contratada (contracted power) still matches your actual usage, since an oversized contracted power wastes money on the fixed standing charge, and whether you are still eligible for or missing out on the bono social discount if your circumstances have changed. If a fixed-term contract includes an auto-renewal clause and you do not cancel within the notice window it specifies (commonly 30 to 60 days before expiry), the supplier can roll you onto a new contract on its own terms, sometimes at a materially higher price, and suppliers are required to notify any price revision at least 30 days in advance; consumer groups recommend reviewing your contract 60 to 90 days before renewal to compare offers and avoid an unfavourable automatic rollover (source: OCU and consumer energy guidance, July 2026; not re-checked in October 2026).

Illustration of a lightbulb, a plug, and a home meter, for choosing an electricity and gas provider in Spain.
Power, plug, and meter: energy in Spain.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which energy provider should residents switch to for the best price?

There is no single answer, since the best offer depends on your consumption, contracted power, and whether you want green sourcing or bundled gas. Of the three tariffs whose suppliers publish a price (October 2026), TotalEnergies has the lowest energy price at EUR 0.1199 per kWh before tax below 4,000 kWh a year, but it does not publish its power term. Iberdrola, Endesa, Naturgy and Repsol publish no numeric price, so run your own consumption through the CNMC's Comparador de Ofertas de Energia before switching.

Is it worth switching suppliers if I am still under contract?

Check your existing contract for an early-termination penalty clause (clausula de permanencia) first. Many free-market contracts in Spain, including standard offers from Iberdrola, Endesa, Naturgy, and Repsol, allow switching without a fee, but fixed-term promotional offers can include a penalty. Any such penalty on a low-voltage household contract was reported in July 2026 as capped at 5% of the remaining energy cost owed under the contract (not re-checked in October 2026). Holaluz's Tarifa Clasica states no minimum term on its price page.

Do Iberdrola, Endesa, Naturgy, or Repsol offer loyalty discounts for long-term customers?

Yes. Repsol's Waylet app credits fuel-station discounts to customers who also hold its electricity, gas, or solar contracts, up to around 20-25 cents per litre in combined promotional savings depending on which Repsol products a household holds, plus its Waylet card adds a 2% cashback on electricity and gas bills; check the current terms directly on Repsol's site since promotional fuel discounts change frequently (source: Repsol, repsol.com and repsol.es, as of July 2026).

Sources

Earlier sources (July 2026, not re-checked in October 2026): supplier websites, CNMC. The 5% penalty cap and auto-renewal notice practices are sourced from consumer guidance and the OCU, and Repsol's Waylet loyalty terms from Repsol's own site, all as of July 2026.

Change log

Updated

  • Added the three supplier-published tariffs and the switch rule.
  • Published

Community Q&A

Ask a question